A destination for centuries
Popular with anglers, Yough River Park is nestled between the Great Allegheny Passage and the Youghiogheny River in Connellsville, and offers river access, picnic tables, pavilions, and playground equipment. Its central feature is a recreated cabin portraying the home of early settler William Crawford, a contemporary of — and regular host to — George Washington. Crawford surveyed thousands of acres along the river for Washington, and later served under him with distinction as a colonel in the Revolutionary War. Also visible from the park is an abandoned truss bridge once used by the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad to cross the Youghiogheny River.
In 1755, on its way to Fort Duquesne (in what is now Point State Park), the slow-moving British army bivouacked in Connellsville and crossed the Youghiogheny River at this site. A reenactment of the army’s fjording of the river at “Stewart’s Crossing,” as it was known at the time, is held every June.
Access and availability
Open dawn to dusk. Parking is available and the Connellsville Vistor Information Center is also on site.